Kenny Spencer Named to AFL First-Team Offense - Spokane, North Idaho News & Weather

Spokane Shock

Kenny Spencer Named to AFL First-Team Offense

Spokane kicker Kenny Spencer was named to the AFL's First-Team All-Arena offense on Monday.

Spencer set a single season AFL record for extra point conversions. He hit 138 extra points this past season.

Spencer was the only Shock player to be named to the first or second offensive team this year.


Below is the news release from the Arena Football League:

Record-setting Utah Blaze QB TOMMY GRADY has been selected First-Team All-Arena for the first time in his three-year AFL career, the AFL Office announced today.

Grady broke numerous League passing records in 2012, including most touchdowns in a season (142) and most passing yards in a season (5,870). His favorite target, WR AARON LESUE, also earned First-Team All-Arena honors. The recipient of roughly a third of Grady's passing yardage this season, Lesue set single-season franchise records for points (340) and receiving touchdowns (56).

Philadelphia Soul FB DERRICK ROSS earned his second consecutive First-Team All-Arena honor after becoming the first player in AFL history to rush for 30 touchdowns or more in back-to-back seasons, as well as the first rusher to crack the 600-yard mark in two consecutive years.

Also awarded a second straight First-Team All-Arena nod was Iowa Barnstormers WR JESSE SCHMIDT, who became the first receiver in AFL history to record 150 receptions and 2,000 receiving yards in consecutive seasons. Arizona Rattlers WR MAURICE PURIFY also earned First-Team honors. Purify tied the single-season franchise record for points with 282 in 2012. The 2011 AFL Rookie of the Year was selected Second-Team All-Arena last season.

Two more Rattlers also earned First-Team All-Arena honors on the offensive line, as C KYLE YOUNG and rookie OL MICHAEL HUEY were selected to the squad. San Jose SaberCats OL RICH RANGLIN also earned First-Team recognition. Spokane Shock K KENNY SPENCERwas named First-Team All-Arena kicker after setting the single-season AFL record for extra point conversions with 138 on the year.

Nine more players earned Second-Team All-Arena honors, including: Arizona Rattlers QB NICK DAVILA and FB ODIE ARMSTRONG; Chicago Rush WR REGGIE GRAY and C BILLY EISENHARDT; Philadelphia Soul WR TIGER JONES; Cleveland Gladiators WR DOMINICK GOODMAN; Tampa Bay Storm OL GEORGE BUSSEY; and San Jose SaberCats OL MANNY AKAH and K NICH PERTUIT.

First-Team All-Arena Offense

QB Tommy Grady, Utah

FB Derrick Ross, Philadelphia

WR Jesse Schmidt, Iowa

WR Maurice Purify, Arizona

WR Aaron Lesue, Utah

C Kyle Young, Arizona

OL Rich Ranglin, San Jose

OL Michael Huey, Arizona

K Kenny Spencer, Spokane

Second-Team All-Arena Offense

QB Nick Davila, Arizona

FB Odie Armstrong, Arizona

WR Reggie Gray, Chicago

WR Tiger Jones, Philadelphia

WR Dominick Goodman, Cleveland

C Billy Eisenhardt, Chicago

OL George Bussey, Tampa Bay

OL Manny Akah, San Jose

K Nich Pertuit, San Jose

  • Spokane Empire

    • Spokane Empire prepare for biggest game of season

      The Spokane Empire (8-7, 7-4) will travel to Salt Lake on Friday to take on the Screaming Eagles (4-11, 3-8) and wrap up the 2017 regular season. This is a must-win game for the Empire if they want to make the Intense Conference playoffs.

    • Empire fall short against Barnstormers 58-28; suffering 3rd straight road loss

      Spokane Empire SPOKANE, WA - The Spokane Empire (8-7, 7-4) were defeated by the Iowa Barnstormers (13-2, 8-2)  in Week 17 of the 2017 IFL regular season at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines, IA by a score of 58-28. It only took three snaps for the Barnstormers to score, as quarterback Travis Partridge connected with Brady Roland to quickly go up 7-0. Spokane signal caller Aaron Wilmer took over and though having success running the ball himself, he could not connect with a pass t...

    • Empire have sights set on playoffs against Barnstormers

      The Spokane Empire (8-6, 7-4) will travel to Des Moines on Friday to take on the Iowa Barnstormers (12-2, 8-2), with their sights set on the playoffs. This will be the Empire's second-to-last game before they finish up the regular season against the Salt Lake Screaming Eagles on June 16th.

    • Spokane Empire in danger of missing playoffs

      The Spokane Empire (8-6, 7-4) are in danger of missing the playoffs after they fell to the Arizona Rattlers (10-4, 7-1) on Saturday, 33-16. With only two games remaining in the regular season, the Empire could miss the playoffs after appearing in the 2016 United Bowl.

    • Rattlers run past Empire to claim Intense Conference crown

      Spokane, Wash. – The Arizona Rattlers (10-4) have clinched home field advantage in the Intense Conference championship with a win over the Spokane Empire (8-6) by a score of 33-16 at the Spokane Veterans Memorial Arena in Spokane, Washington.

    • Empire will host the Rattlers for final home game of season

      The Spokane Empire (8-5, 7-3) will play their final home game of the season against the Arizona Rattlers (9-4, 6-1) on Saturday. The Empire snapped a three-game losing streak last week when they beat the Colorado Crush.