UPDATE: Cardinals Celebrate Mass Before Entering Conclave; Await - Spokane, North Idaho News & Weather KHQ.com

UPDATE: Cardinals Celebrate Mass Before Entering Conclave; Awaiting White Smoke

VATICAN CITY (AP) - Cardinals at the Vatican have celebrated a final Mass before they sequester themselves in the Sistine Chapel to begin selecting a new pope.
    
Cardinal Angelo Sodano, the dean of the College of Cardinals, delivered today's homily, calling for unity within the church.
    
When he mentioned the name of the former pope Benedict, he was interrupted by applause from people in the pews.

 TODAY'S SCHEDULE:

- 10 a.m.-11:45 a.m. (5 a.m.-6:45 a.m. EDT; 0900-1045 GMT): Cardinals attend Mass in St Peter's Basilica, then return to their Vatican hotel.
    
- 3:45 p.m. (10:45 a.m. EDT; 1445 GMT): Cardinals travel from their hotel to the Apostolic Palace.
    
- 4:30 p.m. (11:30 a.m. EDT; 1530 GMT): Procession from the Pauline Chapel into the Sistine Chapel.
    
- 4:45 p.m.-8 p.m. (11:45 a.m.-3 p.m. EDT; 1545-1900 GMT): Each cardinal takes an oath, most likely followed by the first vote. If the vote yields a new pope, white smoke will emerge from the chimney; if not the smoke will be black.
    
- 8 p.m. (3 p.m. EDT; 1900 GMT): Cardinals pray in the Sistine Chapel.
    
- 8:30 p.m. (3:30 p.m. EDT; 1930 GMT): Cardinals return to their hotel.
    
WEDNESDAY AND ONWARD
    
- 7:45 a.m. (2:45 a.m. EDT; 0645 GMT): Cardinals travel to the Pauline Chapel.
    
- 8:15 a.m. (3:15 a.m. EDT; 0715 GMT): Mass in the Pauline Chapel.
    
- 9:30 a.m. (4:30 a.m. EDT; 0830 GMT): Prayer in the Sistine Chapel, voting starts.
    
- 12:30 p.m. (7:30 a.m. EDT; 1130 GMT): Cardinals retire to their hotel for lunch.
    
- 4 p.m. (11 a.m. EDT; 1500 GMT): Cardinals return to the Sistine Chapel.
    
- 4:50 p.m. (11:50 a.m. EDT; 1540 GMT): Voting in the Sistine Chapel.
    
- 7:15 p.m. (2:15 p.m. EDT; 1815 GMT): Prayer in the Sistine Chapel.
    
- 7:30 p.m. (2:30 p.m. EDT; 1830 GMT): Cardinals return to their hotel.
    
PAUSES
    
After three full days of voting, the cardinals break for a day of prayer and reflection, then resume for another seven ballots. The first pause will be on Saturday if no pope has been selected before that.
    
THE SMOKE
    
Smoke will emerge from the chimney once at the end of the morning session - about 12 p.m. (7 a.m. EDT; 1100 GMT) - and again at the end of the afternoon session - about 7 p.m. (2 p.m. EDT; 1800 GMT). But if an earlier vote yields a pope, white smoke would emerge at that time, ending the conclave.
    
Once white smoke emerges from the chimney, a bell at the St. Peter's Basilica rings. Within an hour, the man who was selected emerges onto the balcony and his identity is known.

(Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

  • Most Popular StoriesMost Popular StoriesMore>>

  • Coeur d’ Alene woman dies after driving car into Fernan Lake

    Coeur d’ Alene woman dies after driving car into Fernan Lake

    Monday, April 23 2018 1:41 PM EDT2018-04-23 17:41:13 GMT

    On Sunday at about 3:22 p.m., the Kootenai County Sheriff’s 911 Center received multiple calls after a car crashed into Fernan Lake, just east of Coeur d' Alene. The Kootenai County Sheriff’s Office, Kootenai County Fire & Rescue and Kootenai County EMS responded to the 4800 Block of E. Fernan Lake Road. Emergency Public Safety Divers from the Kootenai County Sheriff’s Office Dive Rescue Team were paged to the scene and about 27 minutes after the first 911 call,...

    >>

    On Sunday at about 3:22 p.m., the Kootenai County Sheriff’s 911 Center received multiple calls after a car crashed into Fernan Lake, just east of Coeur d' Alene. The Kootenai County Sheriff’s Office, Kootenai County Fire & Rescue and Kootenai County EMS responded to the 4800 Block of E. Fernan Lake Road. Emergency Public Safety Divers from the Kootenai County Sheriff’s Office Dive Rescue Team were paged to the scene and about 27 minutes after the first 911 call,...

    >>
  • Spokane Japanese restaurant destroyed in early morning fire

    Spokane Japanese restaurant destroyed in early morning fire

    Sunday, April 22 2018 8:21 PM EDT2018-04-23 00:21:59 GMT

    SPOKANE, Wash. - Update: Spokane firefighters say the iconic Shogun restaurant on E. 3rd Ave. appears to be a total loss after an early morning fire destroyed the building. First arriving companies found heavy fire coming through the roof of the Shogun Restaurant and immediately began to attack the fire. Despite attempts to enter the building, they were quickly forced out due to deteriorating conditions above them.

    >>

    SPOKANE, Wash. - Update: Spokane firefighters say the iconic Shogun restaurant on E. 3rd Ave. appears to be a total loss after an early morning fire destroyed the building. First arriving companies found heavy fire coming through the roof of the Shogun Restaurant and immediately began to attack the fire. Despite attempts to enter the building, they were quickly forced out due to deteriorating conditions above them.

    >>
  • Colorado woman facing $500 fine for saving airline snack

    Colorado woman facing $500 fine for saving airline snack

    Sunday, April 22 2018 7:13 PM EDT2018-04-22 23:13:54 GMT

    DENVER  - A Colorado woman says she's facing a $500 fine from U.S. Customs and Border Patrol after she saved a free apple she received from an airline on her way home from Paris. Crystal Tadlock said flight attendants on her Delta Air Lines flight from Paris handed out apples in plastic bags near the end of the flight. 

    >>

    DENVER  - A Colorado woman says she's facing a $500 fine from U.S. Customs and Border Patrol after she saved a free apple she received from an airline on her way home from Paris. Crystal Tadlock said flight attendants on her Delta Air Lines flight from Paris handed out apples in plastic bags near the end of the flight. 

    >>
HD DOPPLER 6i
/
  • National NewsMore>>

  • 1 student wounded in shooting at Florida high school

    1 student wounded in shooting at Florida high school

    Saturday, April 21 2018 12:40 AM EDT2018-04-21 04:40:23 GMT
    Doug Engle/Ocala Star-Banner via APDoug Engle/Ocala Star-Banner via AP
    Doug Engle/Ocala Star-Banner via APDoug Engle/Ocala Star-Banner via AP

    FORT LAUDERDALE, Fla. (AP) - A gunman carrying a shotgun in a guitar case opened fire at a Florida high school, wounding one student as other students and teachers piled desks and cabinets against classroom doors to make barricades. The 19-year-old suspect was later arrested and apologized as he was led away in handcuffs. Friday's shooting at Forest High School in Ocala happened on a day planned for a national classroom walkout to protest gun violence. A 17-year-old boy was taken ...

    >>

    FORT LAUDERDALE, Fla. (AP) - A gunman carrying a shotgun in a guitar case opened fire at a Florida high school, wounding one student as other students and teachers piled desks and cabinets against classroom doors to make barricades. The 19-year-old suspect was later arrested and apologized as he was led away in handcuffs. Friday's shooting at Forest High School in Ocala happened on a day planned for a national classroom walkout to protest gun violence. A 17-year-old boy was taken ...

    >>
  • CDC expands E. coli warning to all romaine lettuce

    CDC expands E. coli warning to all romaine lettuce

    Friday, April 20 2018 8:34 PM EDT2018-04-21 00:34:09 GMT
    The US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has expanded its warning about an E. coli outbreak connected to romaine lettuce to cover all forms of romaine, including whole heads and hearts of romaine grown in the Yuma, Arizona, growing area. A previous warning was limited to chopped forms of romaine, including salads and salad mixes. The CDC based the new warning on eight new cases of acute gastroenteritis at a correctional facility in Nome, Alaska, that appear to be c...>>
    The US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has expanded its warning about an E. coli outbreak connected to romaine lettuce to cover all forms of romaine, including whole heads and hearts of romaine grown in the Yuma, Arizona, growing area. A previous warning was limited to chopped forms of romaine, including salads and salad mixes. The CDC based the new warning on eight new cases of acute gastroenteritis at a correctional facility in Nome, Alaska, that appear to be c...>>
  • Off-duty LAPD officer charged with murder in DUI crash

    Off-duty LAPD officer charged with murder in DUI crash

    Friday, April 20 2018 7:07 PM EDT2018-04-20 23:07:07 GMT

    LOS ANGELES, Calif. (AP) - An off-duty Los Angeles police officer has been charged with murder in a fiery freeway crash that killed three people.    Prosecutors say Edgar Verduzco also was charged Friday with vehicular manslaughter and driving under the influence in connection with the Sept. 26 crash.  Verduzco appeared in court Friday but didn't enter a plea. The name of his attorney wasn't immediately known. Police said Verduzco was 

    >>

    LOS ANGELES, Calif. (AP) - An off-duty Los Angeles police officer has been charged with murder in a fiery freeway crash that killed three people.    Prosecutors say Edgar Verduzco also was charged Friday with vehicular manslaughter and driving under the influence in connection with the Sept. 26 crash.  Verduzco appeared in court Friday but didn't enter a plea. The name of his attorney wasn't immediately known. Police said Verduzco was 

    >>
  • Top Stories from KHQHomeMore>>

  • At least 8 pedestrians struck by van in Toronto; Driver in custody

    At least 8 pedestrians struck by van in Toronto; Driver in custody

    Monday, April 23 2018 2:52 PM EDT2018-04-23 18:52:53 GMT

    TORONTO (AP) - Police in Canada say the van that struck eight to 10 pedestrians in north Toronto has been found and the driver is in custody.   Police Constable Jenifferjit Sidhu says authorities do not yet know the cause or reason for the collision.   Authorities say the van apparently jumped the curb and hit the pedestrians. The extent of their injuries is not yet known.

    >>

    TORONTO (AP) - Police in Canada say the van that struck eight to 10 pedestrians in north Toronto has been found and the driver is in custody.   Police Constable Jenifferjit Sidhu says authorities do not yet know the cause or reason for the collision.   Authorities say the van apparently jumped the curb and hit the pedestrians. The extent of their injuries is not yet known.

    >>
  • Waffle House suspect arrested

    Waffle House suspect arrested

    Monday, April 23 2018 2:37 PM EDT2018-04-23 18:37:06 GMT

    NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) -  Authorities say they have arrested a man suspected of storming a Waffle House restaurant in Nashville and fatally shooting four people with an assault rifle.   Authorities announced that 29-year-old Travis Reinking, was taken into custody Monday. Other details were not immediately available. 

    >>

    NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) -  Authorities say they have arrested a man suspected of storming a Waffle House restaurant in Nashville and fatally shooting four people with an assault rifle.   Authorities announced that 29-year-old Travis Reinking, was taken into custody Monday. Other details were not immediately available. 

    >>
  • Coeur d’ Alene woman dies after driving car into Fernan Lake

    Coeur d’ Alene woman dies after driving car into Fernan Lake

    Monday, April 23 2018 1:41 PM EDT2018-04-23 17:41:13 GMT

    On Sunday at about 3:22 p.m., the Kootenai County Sheriff’s 911 Center received multiple calls after a car crashed into Fernan Lake, just east of Coeur d' Alene. The Kootenai County Sheriff’s Office, Kootenai County Fire & Rescue and Kootenai County EMS responded to the 4800 Block of E. Fernan Lake Road. Emergency Public Safety Divers from the Kootenai County Sheriff’s Office Dive Rescue Team were paged to the scene and about 27 minutes after the first 911 call,...

    >>

    On Sunday at about 3:22 p.m., the Kootenai County Sheriff’s 911 Center received multiple calls after a car crashed into Fernan Lake, just east of Coeur d' Alene. The Kootenai County Sheriff’s Office, Kootenai County Fire & Rescue and Kootenai County EMS responded to the 4800 Block of E. Fernan Lake Road. Emergency Public Safety Divers from the Kootenai County Sheriff’s Office Dive Rescue Team were paged to the scene and about 27 minutes after the first 911 call,...

    >>