East Coast Trip Highlights EWU's Schedule - Spokane, North Idaho News & Weather KHQ.com

East Coast Trip Highlights EWU's Schedule

Updated:

The Eastern Washington men's basketball team has a few big-name schools on its schedule for the 2013-14 season.

The Eagles will travel to the East Coast to face Seton Hall and Connecticut on Dec. 21 and 28, respectively, to close out the non-conference portion of their schedule. They will also face Washington and Saint Mary's on the road.

"The East Coast trip jumps out at you -- it is an excellent opportunity for our guys to see a different part of the country and to experience playing against one of the nation's elite programs," said head coach Jim Hayford in a press release. "I know the guys are looking forward to that trip."

Eastern Washington hosts Pacific, Walla Walla, Seattle and UC Irvine during preseason play.

The Eagles host Montana on Jan. 9 to open the home Big Sky portion of their schedule.

"I think the Big Sky Conference is going to be more difficult -- there are many teams returning solid rosters," Hayford said. "We have a very challenging preseason that will prepare us for a great conference season."

Here is the full release. The full schedule is listed below.

Day - Date - Opponent - Site - Time
Sunday - Nov. 10 - Pacific University - Cheney, Wash. - 2:05 p.m.
Sunday - Nov. 17 - at Washington - Seattle, Wash.
Tuesday - Nov. 19 - Walla Walla - Cheney, Wash. - 6:05 p.m.
Fri.-Sun. - Nov. 22-24 - at UC Irvine Tournament - Irvine, Calif.
(Boston Univ.; Florida Atlantic; UC Irvine, EWU)
Friday - Nov. 29 - Seattle - Cheney, Wash. - 6:05 p.m.
Sunday - Dec. 8 - at Saint Mary's - Moraga, Calif. -
Sunday - Dec. 15 - UC Irvine - Cheney, Wash. - 2:05 p.m.
Saturday - Dec. 21 - at Seton Hall - South Orange, N.J.
Saturday - Dec. 28 - at Connecticut - Storrs, Conn.
Thursday - Jan. 2 - at *Weber State - Ogden, Utah
Saturday - Jan. 4 - at *Idaho State - Pocatello, Idaho
Thursday - Jan. 9 - *Montana - Cheney, Wash.  - 6:05 p.m.
Saturday - Jan. 11 - *Montana State - Cheney, Wash.

Thursday - Jan. 16 - at *Northern Arizona - Flagstaff, Ariz.
Saturday - Jan. 18 - at *Sacramento State - Sacramento, Calif.
Thursday - Jan. 23 - *Southern Utah - Cheney, Wash.  - 6:05 p.m.
Monday - Jan. 27 - at *Portland State - Portland, Ore.
Thursday - Jan. 30 - *North Dakota - Cheney, Wash.  - 6:05 p.m.
Saturday - Feb. 1 - *Northern Colorado - Cheney, Wash.
Thursday - Feb. 6 - at *Montana State - Bozeman, Mont.
Saturday - Feb. 8 - at *Montana - Missoula, Mont.
Thursday - Feb. 13 - *Sacramento State - Cheney, Wash.  - 6:05 p.m. -
Saturday - Feb. 15 - *Northern Arizona - Cheney, Wash.
Saturday - Feb. 22 - at *Southern Utah - Cedar City, Utah
Monday - Feb. 24 - *Portland State - Cheney, Wash.  - 6:05 p.m.
Thursday - Feb. 27 - at *Northern Colorado - Greeley, Colo.
Saturday - March 1 - at *North Dakota - Grand Forks, N.D.
Thursday - March 6 - *Idaho State - Cheney, Wash. - 6:05 p.m.
Saturday - March 8 - *Weber State - Cheney, Wash.
Thursday - March 13 - Big Sky Tournament Quarterfinals - Regular Season Champion - TBA
Friday - March 14 - Big Sky Tournament Semifinals - Regular Season Champion - TBA
Saturday - March 15 - Big Sky Tournament Championship - Regular Season Champion - TBA

All Times Pacific. *Big Sky Conference Game.

  • College SportsCollegeMore>>

  • Petrino Boots Epps From Vandal Football Team

    Petrino Boots Epps From Vandal Football Team

    Sunday, July 20 2014 11:03 PM EDT2014-07-21 03:03:02 GMT
    University of Idaho football coach Paul Petrino Sunday today the dismissal of senior wide receiver Dezmon Epps from the Vandal football team.>>
    University of Idaho football coach Paul Petrino Sunday today the dismissal of senior wide receiver Dezmon Epps from the Vandal football team.>>
  • Idaho Football Picked 9th in Sun Belt

    Idaho Football Picked 9th in Sun Belt

    The University of Idaho was chosen ninth in the Sun Belt Conference’s preseason coaches’ poll.>>
    The University of Idaho was chosen ninth in the Sun Belt Conference’s preseason coaches’ poll.
    >>
  • AppleSox Surprise Yakima Valley Pippins with Extra-Inning Win

    AppleSox Surprise Yakima Valley Pippins with Extra-Inning Win

    Saturday, July 19 2014 5:19 PM EDT2014-07-19 21:19:11 GMT
    The Yakima Valley Pippins were dealt another tough loss on Friday, falling to the Wenatchee Applesox by a final score of 7-4 in 11 innings. >>
    The Yakima Valley Pippins were dealt another tough loss on Friday, falling to the Wenatchee Applesox by a final score of 7-4 in 11 innings. >>
  • Eastern WashingtonEWUMore>>

  • Eags Add ASU Transfer To Secondary

    Eags Add ASU Transfer To Secondary

    Cornerback Rashad Wadood -- Eastern's second Pac-12 Conference transfer in as many seasons – has been admitted and enrolled at Eastern Washington University, and will join the Eagle football program when practices begin on July 31, head coach Beau Baldwin announced Wednesday, July 16.The>>
    Cornerback Rashad Wadood -- Eastern's second Pac-12 Conference transfer in as many seasons – has been admitted and enrolled at Eastern Washington University, and will join the Eagle football program when practices begin on July 31, head coach Beau Baldwin announced Wednesday, July 16.The
    >>
  • Former EWU Star Stuckey Lands With Pacers

    Former EWU Star Stuckey Lands With Pacers

    Rodney Stuckey will play with the Indiana Pacers next season after signing a one-year deal on Wednesday. (Photo: Wiki)Rodney Stuckey will play with the Indiana Pacers next season after signing a one-year deal on Wednesday. (Photo: Wiki)
    A person with knowledge of the situation tells The Associated Press that the Indiana Pacers have agreed to terms with free agent guard Rodney Stuckey on a one-year deal to help replace the departed Lance Stephenson.Stuckey and the Pacers came to the agreement on Wednesday, one day after the Charlotte Hornets swooped in to land Stephenson.>>
    A person with knowledge of the situation tells The Associated Press that the Indiana Pacers have agreed to terms with free agent guard Rodney Stuckey on a one-year deal to help replace the departed Lance Stephenson.Stuckey and the Pacers came to the agreement on Wednesday, one day after the Charlotte Hornets swooped in to land Stephenson.
    >>
  • EWU Ranked Preseason No. 1 In Big Sky Polls

    EWU Ranked Preseason No. 1 In Big Sky Polls

    A year after going an unblemished 8-0 in the Big Sky Conference for the first time in school history, the Eastern Washington University football team has been selected by both the media and coaches to win a third-straight title.>>
    A year after going an unblemished 8-0 in the Big Sky Conference for the first time in school history, the Eastern Washington University football team has been selected by both the media and coaches to win a third-straight title.
    >>