Sanders Named to AFL First-Team - Spokane, North Idaho News & Weather

Sanders Named to AFL First-Team

By the Arena Football League at

Aug. 7, 2013

CHICAGO – Eighteen players earned 2013 First and Second Team All-Arena Defensive honors, the AFL Office announced today. The San Antonio Talons garnered a League-high three First Team selections and tied the San Jose Sabercats for the most overall All-Arena defenders with four.

For the second consecutive year, San Antonio Talons DE Joe Sykes was named First Team All-Arena after leading the League in sacks. Sykes has tallied 30 sacks over the last two seasons, including 14 in 2013. Sykes' San Antonio teammate NG Tim McGill was named First Team All-Arena as well for his impressive work on the interior defensive line. Philadelphia Soul DE Bryan Robinson snagged the other defensive end spot after setting a single-season franchise record with 11 sacks to go along with six blocked kicks.

At linebacker, San Jose Sabercats MLB Francis Maka earned First Team recognition at the Mac position and San Antonio Talons JLB Jamar Ransom garnered First Team recognition as a Jack. Maka was a Second Team selection a year ago while Ransom earned Second Team honors in 2010.

Headlining the First Team All-Arena secondary was San Jose Sabercats DB Clevan Thomas, who set a the single-season AFL record for interceptions returned for touchdowns with six in 2013. Thomas and Arizona Rattlers DB Virgil Gray, who also garnered First Team recognition, tied for the League lead with 15 interceptions on the year. Jacksonville Sharks DB Terrance Smith earned the final First Team defensive back spot after setting a single-season franchise-record with 12 interceptions in 2013, while Spokane Shock DB Terrance Sanders was named First Team All-Arena as a kick return specialist. Sanders set a new AFL record with 2,265 kickoff return yards in 2013.

Nine more players earned Second Team All-Arena honors, including: Iowa Barnstormers DE Mike Lewis; Jacksonville Sharks DE JERRY TURNER; San Jose Sabercats NG Jason Stewart; Jacksonville Sharks MLB Aaron Robbins; San Jose Sabercats JLB Huey Whittaker; Philadelphia Soul DB Rayshaun Kizer; Arizona Rattlers DB Arkeith Brown; San Antonio Talons DB Fred Shaw; and Orlando Predators KR Dominic Jones.

First Team All-Arena Defense   
DE Joe Sykes, San Antonio
DE Bryan Robinson, Philadelphia
NG Tim McGill, San Antonio
MLB Francis Maka, San Jose
JLB Jamar Ransom, San Antonio
DB Clevan Thomas, San Jose
DB Virgil Gray, Arizona
DB Terrance Smith, Jacksonville
KR Terrance Sanders, Spokane

Second Team All-Arena Defense   
DE Mike Lewis, Iowa
DE Jerry Turner, Jacksonville
NG Jason Stewart, San Jose
MLB Aaron Robbins, Jacksonville
JLB Huey Whittaker, San Jose
DB Rayshaun Kizer, Philadelphia
DB Arkeith Brown, Arizona
DB Fred Shaw, San Antonio
KR Dominic Jones, Orlando


  • Spokane Empire

    • Spokane Empire RB Trevor Kennedy thanks Spokane for their support

      On Wednesday, the Spokane Empire announced that they will cease operations and not play football in 2018. This news came as a surprise to many players, including running back Trevor Kennedy, who said he was appreciative for all the support Spokane has given the Empire.

    • Spokane Empire to cease operations and will not play football in 2018

      The Spokane Empire have announced that they will cease operations and will not be be playing football in the 2018 season. The Empire's franchise began as the Spokane Shock in the summer of 2005 as a part of the af2 league. During their time in the af2, the Shock won the league championship in 2006 and 2009, while also making the playoffs every year in the league (2006-2009).

    • Spokane native Brett Rypien nominated for Allstate AFCA Good Works Team

      Spokane native Brett Rypien was one of 146 student-athletes nominated for the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team, the American Football Coaches Association announced on Monday. The former Shadle Park Highlander and current Boise State Broncos quarterback has made a name for himself on the field.

    • Two Spokane Empire defensive players named to All-IFL team

      Spokane, Washington – The Indoor Football League announced the All-IFL First and Second Team honors for the 2017 regular season. Two Empire players were selected. Both Empire players selected were members of the Empire defense that proved dominate throughout the 2017 season.

    • Spokane Empire prepare for biggest game of season

      The Spokane Empire (8-7, 7-4) will travel to Salt Lake on Friday to take on the Screaming Eagles (4-11, 3-8) and wrap up the 2017 regular season. This is a must-win game for the Empire if they want to make the Intense Conference playoffs.

    • Empire fall short against Barnstormers 58-28; suffering 3rd straight road loss

      Spokane Empire SPOKANE, WA - The Spokane Empire (8-7, 7-4) were defeated by the Iowa Barnstormers (13-2, 8-2)  in Week 17 of the 2017 IFL regular season at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines, IA by a score of 58-28. It only took three snaps for the Barnstormers to score, as quarterback Travis Partridge connected with Brady Roland to quickly go up 7-0. Spokane signal caller Aaron Wilmer took over and though having success running the ball himself, he could not connect with a pass t...