Bucannon Named Semifinalist for Jim Thorpe Award - Spokane, North Idaho News & Weather KHQ.com

Bucannon Named Semifinalist for Jim Thorpe Award

By Washington State Univ. Athletics

OKLAHOMA CITY – Washington State senior safety Deone Bucannon was named a semifinalist for the Jim Thorpe Award, given to the top defensive back in college football, The Jim Thorpe Association announced Monday.

Bucannon enters the week leading the Pac-12 Conference with 73 tackles and tied for second with four interceptions. He also owns team-highs of three forced fumbles and two fumble recoveries. The Fairfield, Calif. native has posted a pair of double-digit tackle games this season and currently sits tied for fourth in WSU history with 343 career tackles and 13 career interceptions.

Bucannon is the first Cougar to be named a semifinalist since Jason David in 2003.

The Thorpe Award is named after history's greatest athlete, Jim Thorpe, and is presented by the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame and Jim Thorpe Association in Oklahoma City. Thorpe excelled at every sport in which he competed, including football at which he played on the offensive and defensive side of the ball. The three Thorpe Award finalists will be named on Monday, November 25th and the winner will be announced at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on December 12th airing on ESPN. The winner of the 2013 Thorpe Award will be honored at a banquet in Oklahoma City on February 4, 2014.


C.J. Barnett, Sr. Ohio State

Deone Bucannon, Sr. Washington State

Landon Collins, Soph. Alabama

Aaron Colvin, Sr.  University of Oklahoma

Darqueze Dennard, Sr. Michigan State

Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Jr. Oregon

Kyle Fuller, Sr. Virginia Tech

Vernon Hargreaves,  Fr.  Florida

Lamarcus Joyner, Sr., Florida State

Steven Nelson, Jr. Oregon

Cody Prewitt, Jr. Ole Miss

Calvin Pryor, Jr. Louisville

Jason Verrett, Sr. TCU

Jimmie Ward, Sr. N. Illinois

Ty Zimmerman,  Sr. Kansas State