Madison Named 1st Team WAC, Not Player of the Year - Spokane, North Idaho News & Weather

Madison Named 1st Team WAC, Not Player of the Year

By University of Idaho Athletics

DENVER – After collecting a Western Athletic Conference record five Player of the Week honors throughout the season, Idaho senior men's basketball player Stephen Madison was recognized with first-team all-WAC honors on Sunday.

Madison led the league in scoring with 19.9 points per game and ranked fourth in rebounding with 7.6 boards per game. He also ranked in the league's top 15 with a 48.0 field goal percentage (10th), 2.45 assists per game (13th), and a 74.4 free throw percentage (11th).

Madison's 21.9 points per game during WAC play were easily the best in the league, and he also ranked fifth in rebounding, seventh in steals, 12th in field goal percentage and 13th in free throw percentage in conference action.

Madison scored a career-high 42 points at Utah Valley on Feb. 15, the most points scored by a WAC player in a game this season, and third most by an Idaho player in program history. He also had games of 35 and 34 points, and totaled 14 games of 20 or more points.

The Portland, Ore., native is Idaho's all-time leader in games played, and ranks fourth in program history with 1,556 career points and 10th with 619 rebounds. His 242 free throws attempted and 180 free throws made this season are Idaho records, and his 616 points this season are the fifth most in program history. Madison is just 30 points away from moving into second on Idaho's career scoring list.

New Mexico State's Daniel Mullings was voted the WAC Player of the Year by the league's head coaches, and rounding out the all-WAC first team were Grand Canyon's Killian Larson and Utah Valley's Ben Aird and Holton Hunsaker.

The all-WAC second team includes Issiah Grayson of Bakersfield, Quinton Pippen of Chicago State, Jerome Garrison of Grand Canyon, Tshilidzi Nephawe of NM State and Isiah Umipig of Seattle U. Kansas City's Martez Harrison earned the WAC Freshman of the Year honor and Utah Valley coach Dick Hunsaker was the league's Coach of the Year.

Mullings, Garrison, Aly Ahmed (Bakersfield), Sim Bhullar (NM State) and Mitch Bruneel (Utah Valley) earned WAC all-defensive team honors while Harrison, Umipig, Daniel Alexander (Grand Canyon), DK Eldridge (NM State) and Zach Nelson (Utah Valley) were all-newcomer selections.

The WAC tournament begins Mar. 13 at the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas, Nev., where the fifth-seeded Vandals will take on the fourth-seeded UMKC Kangaroos in quarterfinal action.

  • College

    • Eags denied playoff spot as Sblendorio picks up final weekly honor

      By EWU Athletics A near record-breaking performance by wide receiver Nic Sblendorio earned him an honor on Sunday (Nov. 19), but earlier in the day the Eastern Washington University football team was dealt a shocking blow when it was not selected to play in the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision Playoffs.   Eastern wrapped up a 7-4 finish overall and 6-2 record in league play with a 59-33 romp over Portland State on Saturday, a game in which the senior caught nine ...
    • Gonzaga uses huge 2nd half to beat Utah State 79-66

      The 3-point shooting of Utah State gave No. 17 Gonzaga fits in the first half on Saturday night. The Aggies threw a scare into Gonzaga before the Bulldogs woke up in the second half and rolled to a 79-66 victory.

    • Eagles win big over Portland State 59-33

      After receiving first-round byes in the previous five appearances in the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision Playoffs, the Eagles are in a wait-and-see mode following a dominant 59-33 Big Sky Conference victory over Portland State.

    • Vandals struggle in 13-7 loss to Coastal Carolina

      Idaho found the end zone on the game’s opening drive, but Coastal Carolina accounted for the rest of the scoring as the Vandals (3-7, 2-4 Sun Belt) suffered a 13-7 defeat in their home finale Saturday.

    • Cougars roll past Idaho State 83-62

      Robert Franks had 25 points, nine rebounds and a career-high eight assists, Malachi Flynn added 15 points and Washington State used a big second-half run to beat Idaho State 83-62 on Saturday.

    • Bobcats win the 117th Brawl of the Wild 31-23 in Bozeman

      BOZEMAN, Mont. - The Montana State Bobcats defeated the Montana Grizzlies 31-23 to win the 117th Brawl of the Wild. It's the first time since 2005 that the Cats won a game against the Griz in Bozeman.  The Bobcats ran for 322 yards on the ground, making it the second consecutive year that they have put up over 250 yards of rushing on Montana's defense. Cats sophomore quarterback Chris Murray accounted for 133 yards of that total, as well as throwing the ball for 98 yards. The G...