Shock's Sanders Wins Playmaker Award - Spokane, North Idaho News & Weather

Shock's Sanders Wins Playmaker Award

Terrance Sanders was named the AFL's J. Lewis Small Playmaker of the Year on Friday. (Photo: Shock MR) Terrance Sanders was named the AFL's J. Lewis Small Playmaker of the Year on Friday. (Photo: Shock MR)

by AFL Media Relations

CLEVELAND – At the 2014 AFL Awards Ceremony in Cleveland on Thursday, the Arena Football League announced the winners of its most coveted individual honors. Arizona Rattlers quarterback Nick Davila brought home a pair of awards, including the Russell Athletic Offensive Player of the Year and AFL MVP of the Year. San Jose SaberCats nose guard Jason Stewart earned Riddell Defensive Player of the Year honors, while Spokane Shock defensive back Terrance Sanders was recognized as the J. Lewis Small Playmaker of the Year. Orlando Predators wide receiver Greg Carr finished off the player awards by earning NET10 Wireless Rookie of the Year honors.


Davila (6-3, 220, Cincinnati) set a new single-season franchise record with 127 passing touchdowns in 2014, the second-highest total in AFL history. He also became the 10th player in pro football history to eclipse 500 passing touchdowns in a career and is the first and only player in the history of the sport to toss 100 or more touchdowns in five consecutive seasons. This is Davila’s first Russell Athletic Offensive Player of the Year selection and his second AFL MVP award. He was also recognized as League MVP in 2011. He joins Arena Football Hall of Famer George LaFrance as the only players in League history to win multiple AFL MVP honors.


Stewart (6-0, 315, Fresno State) led the SaberCats with a career-high 12.5 sacks in 2014. He also tallied 28.5 tackles, four pass breakups, three fumble recoveries, two forced fumbles and a safety. A two-time All-Arena selection this is Stewart’s first Riddell Defensive Player of the Year selection. He is the third consecutive San Jose defender to come away with the award, joining teammates Joe Sykes (2012) and Clevan Thomas (2013). It is the first time in League history that the Riddell Defensive Player of the Year has come from the same team in three consecutive seasons.


Sanders (5-10, 180, Eastern Illinois) continued to carve his legacy as one of the game’s most electrifying kick return specialists in 2014, leading the League with 1,687 kickoff return yards and five combined kick return touchdowns. He also starred in the defensive secondary, collecting a team-high 11 interceptions to go along with 71 tackles and 16 pass breakups. This is Sanders first career J. Lewis Small Playmaker of the Year selection. He has earned All-Arena honors each of the last three seasons.


Carr (6-6, 230, Florida State) led all AFL rookies with 113 receptions for 1,435 yards, 36 touchdowns and six 100-yard performances in 2014. This is the ninth consecutive season a wide receiver has earned Rookie of the Year honors.

  • Spokane Empire

    • Spokane Empire RB Trevor Kennedy thanks Spokane for their support

      On Wednesday, the Spokane Empire announced that they will cease operations and not play football in 2018. This news came as a surprise to many players, including running back Trevor Kennedy, who said he was appreciative for all the support Spokane has given the Empire.

    • Spokane Empire to cease operations and will not play football in 2018

      The Spokane Empire have announced that they will cease operations and will not be be playing football in the 2018 season. The Empire's franchise began as the Spokane Shock in the summer of 2005 as a part of the af2 league. During their time in the af2, the Shock won the league championship in 2006 and 2009, while also making the playoffs every year in the league (2006-2009).

    • Spokane native Brett Rypien nominated for Allstate AFCA Good Works Team

      Spokane native Brett Rypien was one of 146 student-athletes nominated for the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team, the American Football Coaches Association announced on Monday. The former Shadle Park Highlander and current Boise State Broncos quarterback has made a name for himself on the field.

    • Two Spokane Empire defensive players named to All-IFL team

      Spokane, Washington – The Indoor Football League announced the All-IFL First and Second Team honors for the 2017 regular season. Two Empire players were selected. Both Empire players selected were members of the Empire defense that proved dominate throughout the 2017 season.

    • Spokane Empire prepare for biggest game of season

      The Spokane Empire (8-7, 7-4) will travel to Salt Lake on Friday to take on the Screaming Eagles (4-11, 3-8) and wrap up the 2017 regular season. This is a must-win game for the Empire if they want to make the Intense Conference playoffs.

    • Empire fall short against Barnstormers 58-28; suffering 3rd straight road loss

      Spokane Empire SPOKANE, WA - The Spokane Empire (8-7, 7-4) were defeated by the Iowa Barnstormers (13-2, 8-2)  in Week 17 of the 2017 IFL regular season at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines, IA by a score of 58-28. It only took three snaps for the Barnstormers to score, as quarterback Travis Partridge connected with Brady Roland to quickly go up 7-0. Spokane signal caller Aaron Wilmer took over and though having success running the ball himself, he could not connect with a pass t...