Spokane Public Schools reviews threat assessment protocol - Spokane, North Idaho News & Weather KHQ.com

Spokane Public Schools reviews threat assessment protocol

Posted: Updated:
SPOKANE, Wash. -

In response to the shooting at Freeman High School two weeks ago, Spokane Public Schools have reviewed their Threat Assessment Protocol.

“Thus far it’s been a solid plan,” said Student Services Coordinator, Chris Moore. “That’s what we’ve determined and we haven’t made a lot of changes to it.”

Moore and dozens of other staff within SPS make up the Threat Assessment Team.

The protocol was created one-and-a-half years ago and is reviewed every time a new board member joins SPS.

“We look at student’s behaviors, barriers presented with his or her life, what kind of treatment he or she is getting, and how we can partner with outside agencies,” said Moore. “What can we do to support this student and what plan can we provide for them.”

According to officials, SPS has identified a small number of students in the district who engage in threats of violence and aggressive assaultive behavior including sex crimes that at times threaten the safety of other students and staff.

Once potentially dangerous and threatening students have been identified, the team will assess and determine if a student threat is valid, then implement strategies and interventions designed to interrupt and prevent the worst-case scenario.

“Are we seeing changes in behavior with these students?” said Moore. “Are they becoming more outgoing, more withdrawn, more aggressive?”

When a student is identified as a viable threat, the school will remove them, ensure safety of other students, request assistance from law enforcement, notify potential victims, and create a plan to support victims.

The Threat Assessment Team is made up of the Director of Student Services, Director of High School Student Services and Mental Health Services, Director of Campus Safety, Campus Resource Officer Supervisor, principals, secondary school directors, and other district staff with background information.

  • Most Popular StoriesMost Popular StoriesMore>>

  • Idaho Fish and Game Commissioner resigns amid graphic baboon hunting photo controversy

    Idaho Fish and Game Commissioner resigns amid graphic baboon hunting photo controversy

    Monday, October 15 2018 6:29 PM EDT2018-10-15 22:29:39 GMT

    BOISE, Idaho - Idaho Fish and Game Commissioner Blake Fischer has resigned, effective immediately, after photos involving a dead baboon family surfaced from an African hunting trip. Idaho Governor C.L. "Butch" Otter announced Monday afternoon that he asked for and received the resignation from Fischer, who was under intense criticism for the graphic photos from last month.

    >>

    BOISE, Idaho - Idaho Fish and Game Commissioner Blake Fischer has resigned, effective immediately, after photos involving a dead baboon family surfaced from an African hunting trip. Idaho Governor C.L. "Butch" Otter announced Monday afternoon that he asked for and received the resignation from Fischer, who was under intense criticism for the graphic photos from last month.

    >>
  • Man run over by lawn mower while trying to kill son with chainsaw

    Man run over by lawn mower while trying to kill son with chainsaw

    Monday, October 15 2018 7:38 PM EDT2018-10-15 23:38:29 GMT

    BRISTOL, Tenn. (AP) - A man who police say was run over with a lawn mower while trying to kill his son with a chain saw has had to have his leg amputated. The Bristol Herald Courier reports that a warrant for 76-year-old Douglas Ferguson couldn’t be served until Tuesday because of the severity of his injuries.

    >>

    BRISTOL, Tenn. (AP) - A man who police say was run over with a lawn mower while trying to kill his son with a chain saw has had to have his leg amputated. The Bristol Herald Courier reports that a warrant for 76-year-old Douglas Ferguson couldn’t be served until Tuesday because of the severity of his injuries.

    >>
  • Hayden man shares story of Grizzly attack while bow hunting in Montana

    Hayden man shares story of Grizzly attack while bow hunting in Montana

    Sunday, October 14 2018 3:11 PM EDT2018-10-14 19:11:51 GMT
    Bob Legasa -  FacebookBob Legasa - Facebook

    BOZEMAN, Mont. - A Facebook post by Bob Legasa of Hayden, Idaho is going viral after he survived a grizzly attack while bow hunting in Montana. Legasa says in the post: "My hunting partner Greg Gibson and I surprised a Sow grizzly and her cub as we were moving in on some Elk. We walked up to with in 12 yards when we all saw each other And before I could even reach for my bear spray she was at full charge.

    >>

    BOZEMAN, Mont. - A Facebook post by Bob Legasa of Hayden, Idaho is going viral after he survived a grizzly attack while bow hunting in Montana. Legasa says in the post: "My hunting partner Greg Gibson and I surprised a Sow grizzly and her cub as we were moving in on some Elk. We walked up to with in 12 yards when we all saw each other And before I could even reach for my bear spray she was at full charge.

    >>
HD DOPPLER 6i
/
  • Top Stories from KHQHomeMore>>

  • Fred Meyer recalls angel food cakes due to possible unlisted allergens

    Fred Meyer recalls angel food cakes due to possible unlisted allergens

    Tuesday, October 16 2018 12:39 AM EDT2018-10-16 04:39:52 GMT
    Cropped Photo: Jared Shields / CC BY-SA 2.0Cropped Photo: Jared Shields / CC BY-SA 2.0

    PORTLAND, Ore. - Fred Meyer stores are recalling Angel food cake bars due to possible unlisted allergens. According to a Fred Meyer spokesperson, the 12-ounce bars may contain milk and soy not listed on the label. Clackamas Bakery initiated the recall when it discovered the Fred Meyer Bakery Angel Food Cake Bar label had been incorrectly applied to packages of cornbread. 

    >>

    PORTLAND, Ore. - Fred Meyer stores are recalling Angel food cake bars due to possible unlisted allergens. According to a Fred Meyer spokesperson, the 12-ounce bars may contain milk and soy not listed on the label. Clackamas Bakery initiated the recall when it discovered the Fred Meyer Bakery Angel Food Cake Bar label had been incorrectly applied to packages of cornbread. 

    >>
  • Sheriff's Office investigating string of mail thefts in Chelan County

    Sheriff's Office investigating string of mail thefts in Chelan County

    Monday, October 15 2018 10:12 PM EDT2018-10-16 02:12:31 GMT

    CHELAN COUNTY, Wash. - The Chelan County Sheriff's Office is asking the public for assistance in locating suspect(s) after a string of mail thefts. Sheriffs have received several complaints of mail theft, including a report from a postal carrier who found mail littering the roadway along their route. 

    >>

    CHELAN COUNTY, Wash. - The Chelan County Sheriff's Office is asking the public for assistance in locating suspect(s) after a string of mail thefts. Sheriffs have received several complaints of mail theft, including a report from a postal carrier who found mail littering the roadway along their route. 

    >>
  • US wants drugmakers to put prices in TV ads

    US wants drugmakers to put prices in TV ads

    Monday, October 15 2018 9:36 PM EDT2018-10-16 01:36:58 GMT

    TRENTON, N.J. (AP) - The federal government wants to force drugmakers to disclose prices for prescription medicines in their TV commercials.    Health and Human Services Secretary Alex Azar said a proposal unveiled Monday would apply to brand-name drugs that are covered by the Medicare and Medicaid programs.    

    >>

    TRENTON, N.J. (AP) - The federal government wants to force drugmakers to disclose prices for prescription medicines in their TV commercials.    Health and Human Services Secretary Alex Azar said a proposal unveiled Monday would apply to brand-name drugs that are covered by the Medicare and Medicaid programs.    

    >>