West: 'The Spokesman-Review owes me a personal apology' - Spokane, North Idaho News & Weather KHQ.com

West: 'The Spokesman-Review owes me a personal apology'

Posted: Updated:

SPOKANE, Wash. – Former Spokane Mayor Jim West says he is pleased with the FBI investigation that cleared him of any wrongdoing and says agents concluded what he had said from the beginning: that he did not commit a crime.

The former mayor, still battling cancer, made a statement and took questions during a news conference in downtown Spokane on Thursday afternoon.

“I’d like to make one point,” said West. “Any article published in May – the lead sentence says I used my position and power Boy Scouts and political office to lure young men… I did not commit those acts or do those things.”

West further criticized The Spokesman-Review for their reporting on the accusations, saying the paper and its reporters owe him an apology.

“They cut me to the quick,” said West. “Destroyed my reputation. I think The Spokesman-Review owes me a personal apology.”

“Steve Smith said on a TV program that there would be a cascade of victims. Where are they?”

While responding sternly to the newspaper and its reporters, West curteously addressed the public and Shannon Sullivan, who led the effort to recall him from office.

“To the people of Spokane,” said the former mayor, “I want to thank them. And I have no ill will towards Ms. Sullivan… She relied on newspaper reports and I don’t blame her for coming to the conclusion she did. But it was the wrong conclusion."

West also said he - himself - would have voted against him had he done the things alleged in The Spokesman-Review.

West also took the opportunity to address concerns over his health and career. He told a handful of reporters in the room that he is still taking chemotherapy, but tests conducted two weeks ago show that cancerous tumors on his liver continue to shrink. He also said he plans to stay active in public life – even going as far as to say he is in negotiations with a local radio station to host a radio program.

  • Most Popular StoriesMost Popular StoriesMore>>

  • 14-year-old North Carolina girl found 5 months after her disappearance in Georgia

    14-year-old North Carolina girl found 5 months after her disappearance in Georgia

    Sunday, February 18 2018 11:43 PM EST2018-02-19 04:43:03 GMT
    Courtesy CMPDCourtesy CMPD

     CHARLOTTE, N.C. - A 14-year-old Charlotte, North Carolina girl who disappeared five months ago was found in Georgia this week. WSOC TV reports that Nakia Williams was last seen Sept. 7, 2017 after leaving her home on Wiegon Lane. Georgia law enforcement officials confirmed with WSOC Wednesday that she was seen in Emanuel County, Georgia. Nakia’s mother told WSOC that she was found that same day in Lyons, Georgia, 

    >>

     CHARLOTTE, N.C. - A 14-year-old Charlotte, North Carolina girl who disappeared five months ago was found in Georgia this week. WSOC TV reports that Nakia Williams was last seen Sept. 7, 2017 after leaving her home on Wiegon Lane. Georgia law enforcement officials confirmed with WSOC Wednesday that she was seen in Emanuel County, Georgia. Nakia’s mother told WSOC that she was found that same day in Lyons, Georgia, 

    >>
  • 6-year-old, three others wounded in shooting outside Texas Roadhouse

    6-year-old, three others wounded in shooting outside Texas Roadhouse

    Monday, February 19 2018 12:16 AM EST2018-02-19 05:16:00 GMT
    6-year-old, three others wounded in shooting outside Texas Roadhouse6-year-old, three others wounded in shooting outside Texas Roadhouse

    SAN ANTONIO, Tex. - A 6-year-old child and three other people were injured in a shooting Sunday night outside a Texas Roadhouse restaurant. News 4 San Antonio reports that authorities were called to the Texas Roadhouse at Cinema Ridge at about 8:45 p.m. for reports of an active shooter. Police said four people, including a 6-year-old child were hit when a suspect opened fire outside the restaurant, unloading an entire clip. News 4 

    >>

    SAN ANTONIO, Tex. - A 6-year-old child and three other people were injured in a shooting Sunday night outside a Texas Roadhouse restaurant. News 4 San Antonio reports that authorities were called to the Texas Roadhouse at Cinema Ridge at about 8:45 p.m. for reports of an active shooter. Police said four people, including a 6-year-old child were hit when a suspect opened fire outside the restaurant, unloading an entire clip. News 4 

    >>
  • Couple says Florida school shooting suspect told them he was sorry

    Couple says Florida school shooting suspect told them he was sorry

    Monday, February 19 2018 8:24 AM EST2018-02-19 13:24:52 GMT

    PARKLAND, Fla. - The couple who took in the Florida school shooting suspect after his mother died says he told them he was sorry after the shooting. Speaking Monday on ABC's "Good Morning America," James and Kimberly Snead said they've only seen Nikolas Cruz once since the shooting that killed 17 when they briefly saw him at the police station. 

    >>

    PARKLAND, Fla. - The couple who took in the Florida school shooting suspect after his mother died says he told them he was sorry after the shooting. Speaking Monday on ABC's "Good Morning America," James and Kimberly Snead said they've only seen Nikolas Cruz once since the shooting that killed 17 when they briefly saw him at the police station. 

    >>
HD DOPPLER 6i
/